The Protestant Reformation

Week #23 Essay, History


The Protestant Reformation


The Protestant Reformation started in 1517, when Martin Luther hung his 95 theses on the town of Wittenburg’s church door. His theses stated debate questions for the church.

The 5 solae described what the Reformers did:

  1. Sola Scripture (“Scripture alone”)
  2. Sola Fide (“Faith alone”)
  3. Sola Gratia (“Grace alone”)
  4. Sola Christus (“Through Christ alone”)
  5. Sola Deo Gloria (“To God alone be the glory”)

The church created a council called “The Council of Trent” to try to stop the Reformation. The Council of Trent refused to find a compromise with the Reformers and tried to stop them between 1545 and 1563.

The Council of Trent had four rules:

  1. Ecclesiastical or structural reconfiguration
  2. Religious orders
  3. Spiritual movements
  4. Political dimensions

The Council of Trent failed in trying to stop the Protestant Reformers, and after a while, many European countries (England, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and Germany) took the authority away from the Pope and church and became Protestant nations.


Written by Amelia Jacobson 2016


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s