New Music

What has happened with the lyrics of nowadays’s music?

Don’t get me wrong–I love pop.

But has anyone listened real hard to the songs they play on the radio?

Not just the beat and instruments,

The lyrics.

All of the songs I hear on the radio mention at least one of the following:

Love,

Boyfriends,

Drugs,

S*x,

Getting drunk and doing something stupid.

Music doesn’t even tell much of an interesting story anymore.

I love pop music,

But can we have a different story-line, please?

Honestly, people.

Do we want our everyday teens–children too–growing up

And thinking the stuff that’s mentioned is normal?

 

I know this isn’t the usual poem or writing piece, but I’ve just been listening closely to pop music playing on the radio recently and realizing how strange–and sometimes disturbing–the lyrics to songs can sometimes–most of the time now–be.

Thought I’d bring it to our attention on how young pop-stars act through their music and if we really want them to be “role models” for us children.

Just my personal views, it doesn’t mean they’re right.

~Amelia Jacobson

7 thoughts on “New Music

  1. crazycathysite

    I prefer listening to soundtracks or song’s done by a group called The Piano Guys. I agree 100% with you. I don’t listen to the radio mostly because of all that. Right now I can’t think of one song that doesn’t have at least one of those things you just listed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

