Old Friends

“When you saw me,

You waved and shouted a greeting.

I was shocked.

I didn’t think you still cared,

Still remembered me even.

I thought you had moved on with the rest of our friends,

Leaving me to stay behind.

But no.

Here you are,

As happy as we were

When we saw each other everyday in first grade.

I waved back and a.

I can’t believe I had thought

You had forgotten me.

I can’t believe I had been afraid to email you,

Thinking you’d changed like the rest.

We talked together

Like we we were ten again;

Recommending books to each other,

And telling the other about our lives.

I hadn’t realized how much I had missed you

Until I saw your smiling face again.

I guess the saying

“Best Friends Forever”,

Really is true,

And that there isn’t

As large a distance

Between us anymore.”

 

I wrote this because I ran into one of my friends I haven’t seen in about a year and a half at swim team practice earlier today. I hadn’t realized I had missed her as much as I did. Though we didn’t have long to chat, it was nice to see her all the same.

😉 It was a good day today. 😉

3 thoughts on “Old Friends

Leave a Reply

