Family Vacation To Mexico!

My family (Sophia, Mom and Dad), cousins (Isabelle and Ezra), grandparents (Lorraine and Arthur), an aunt and uncle (Tammie and Dave), and I were in Mexico the 14th through the 22nd. I have only just gotten the pictures onto my computer so I could do this write up about the trip! I am referring to my memory and diary for this, so not everything is exact.

Anyway, enough dilly-dallying. Let’s get to the vacation details…

 

The first day was just a long, boring, mostly infuriating day of travel. We had a 8-9 hour layover at the New Jersey airport, which was partially why it was so long and boring. We finally made it to the time-share we stayed at in Cancun, Mexico, at 3:00 a.m. (Eastern Time).

 

The next day, we went swimming in the pool and ocean. The pool was the largest infinity pool I have ever seen!

Tammie, let me barrow her snorkel set and I went snorkeling with Dave and my Dad. I saw a nurse shark, which I didn’t get a picture of because I didn’t have an underwater camera with me at the time, an ocean sunfish, a barracuda, and a lot of other tropic fish I had only ever seen pictures of. We mostly relaxed after all of the traveling on day two.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the 16th, we snorkeled with a tour guide at the 2nd largest coral reef in the world, which was amazing. The boat we went was beautiful and the crew was really nice. Isabelle, Ezra and Sophia and I got pedicures, and they were beautiful!

IMG_1753.JPG
My and Mom’s pedicures.

When it was nighttime, Isabelle, Sophia and I saw an ocelot on our way back to our rooms (at least, I’m 99.9% sure it was an ocelot) and that was super cool!

 

I woke up super late the next day (11:00 a.m. or so), but I got to see codi mundis! (I had been the only one out of our group not to have seen one yet). They kind of look like lemurs, except they were red and had longer muzzles.

IMG_2418.JPG
Mob of Codi Mundi

Later that day, the women and girls of our group got to swim with dolphins at a place called Delphinus!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

On the 18th, Mom and I were the only ones who wanted to take a day bus tour to Chichen Itza, and so we left the hotel at 8:30 a.m. and got on the bus. The tour guides were really nice and super informative (also, they were funny, which made it interesting!) First, the bus stopped so we and the other tourists could get breakfast, then we drove to a cenote. That was my favorite part of the whole trip, going to that cenote. Sacrifices had been preformed in that pool hundreds of years ago, and I went swimming in it!

After that, we drove to get lunch, then went to Chichen Itza. It was really cool!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

On the 19th, we hung out at the pool again until 5:30 p.m., when we then went and saw a Cirque De Soleil production called “Joya”. It was an amazing play! The music was all live and the acrobatics and costumes were unreal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

On the last day, the women and girls went cave exploring with a guide, Santiago, while the men went fishing.

We went to a place called Rio Secreto and had to wear wet suits and hard hats when we went down into the caves. Before we went down, we were blessed by a Mayan shaman, because the caves were considered sacred.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the caves we saw moonmilk (a fungus that can grow without sunlight) and we learned about a poisonous tree (Chechen) and its antidote (Chaca).

Later that night, we went and saw a Mariachi band play and a real Mexican fiesta!

img_2009

 

After that, Isabelle, Ezra, Sophia and I drew on t-shirts (designed them) with Tammie, which was fun.

 

On the 21st, we traveled the whole day. From 9:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. the next day (Eastern Time). We stayed the night at our grandparents house in Massachusetts, then drove the three hours back to our house.

20161021_150913.jpg
Birds-eye view of the Yucatan Peninsula

 

 

That vacation was fun and an amazing experience (it also gave me many great writing ideas!), but it feels good to be home. I also noticed how Mexicans are much friendlier than us Americans.

14 thoughts on “Family Vacation To Mexico!

  1. Anonymous

    Love coming here to relive the trip! Great job putting it all together and it takes me right back there. But the write up definitely needs more pics of Uncle Baldy.

    Excellent job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kerri

    Great write up Amelia. The photographs are professional and impressive….Wow, we were really busy, yet it felt like such a relaxing and restorative vacation! Glad to share it with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

